VIPKID

Earn Money With VIPKID Online Teaching Jobs
(In America In 2018)

By Michael Wong | October 16, 2018.

VIPKID is by far the largest online English education platform, with over 50,000 teachers, teaching 600,000 students, in 35 countries.

The students, and teachers, seem to be having a lot of fun judging by the highlights in this VIPKID "Magic Moments" video! :-)

Visit the VIPKID website for more information:

VIPKID Teacher screenshot
DISCLOSURE
Some links are sponsored. We only list verified genuine companies we like.

1. VIPKID (http://c1ick.me/vipkid):

  • Earn $14 to $22 per hour as a VIPKID teacher, teaching English classes to Chinese students (aged 4 to 12) in China, in a 1-to-1 environment, via the VPIKID online English education platform.
  • Earn $7 to $11 per 30 minute class:
    • $7 to $9 base pay (based on your credentials and demo lesson performance).
    • Up to $1 attendance incentive (based on showing up on time and teaching the lesson according to schedule).
    • Up to $1 finished class incentive (based on the number of classes you finish in a month).
  • Earnings paid twice a month by direct deposit to your bank account.
  • Classes:
    • The curriculum, all lesson plans, and grading are provided by VIPKID.
    • Teaching online with VIPKID is like being on a Skype call with interactive Powerpoint presentations for lesson plans.
    • Flipped classroom model consists of:
      • a pre-class video that introduces key learning points to the student
      • interactive 25 minute, 1-on-1 class that reinforces learning objectives, delivered via VIPKID's online learning platform
      • follow-up, post class homework and practice games
      • 5 minutes to leave comments after a class.
  • Schedule:
    • Set your own schedule - work as much as you want.
    • VIPKID recommend that you are available for at least 7.5 hours (15 x 30 minute classes) during Beijing peak times:
      • Monday to Friday, 6 p.m. to 10 p.m. (Beijing time), which in the US would be Sunday to Thursday:
        • EST: 5 a.m. to 9 a.m.
        • CT: 4 a.m. to 8 a.m.
        • MT: 3 a.m. to 7 a.m.
        • PST: 2 a.m. to 6 a.m.
      • Saturday and Sunday, 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. (Beijing time) , which in the US would be Friday to Saturday:
        • EST: 8 p.m. to 9 a.m.
        • CT: 7 p.m. to 8 a.m.
        • MT: 6 p.m. to 7 a.m.
        • PST: 5 p.m. to 6 a.m.
      • Beijing to US time conversion (http://c1ick.us/beijingustimeconversion)
  • Benefits:
    • Work from the comfort of your home or anywhere.
    • Supportive VIPKID teacher/staff community online and offline, with support around passing interview, preparing for classes, sharing teaching experiences, teachers meetups, etc.
    • VIPKID constantly offers incentives, including cash, prizes, even trips to Beijing.
    • You don't need to speak Chinese to teach.
  • Requirements:
    • Bachelor's degree in any field.
    • One school year of full-time teaching experience or equivalent hours in similar educational activities (e.g. home schooling, tutoring, educational mentoring, etc.).
    • Eligibility to work in US or Canada.
    • Background check.
    • 6 month minimum contract.
  • Device requirements:
    • Desktop, laptop, Mac, or Surface.
    • HD camera.
    • Headset with microphone.
  • Minimum system requirements:
    • Windows 7/8/10, macOS 10.8+
    • Intel Core i3+ CPU.
    • 4GB+ RAM.
    • Wired 20 Mbps+ DSL internet connection.
    • Flash
  • Sign up process:
    1. Fill out basic info (5 minutes).
    2. 10 minute teaching sample (virtual interview or recorded).
    3. Intro to teaching (2 to 3 hours).
    4. Mock class (2 to 4 hours).
    5. Sign contract.
    6. Start teaching kids.
  • VIPKID run free "Coaching Day" events across North America to train teacher candidates on ESL online teaching skills. Candidates who participate in these events get to accelerate through the interview process.
  • VIPKID is the official provider of the TOEFL Primary assessment in China.
  • VIPKID is also a Strategic Partner of TESOL International Association, the largest global association for English language teaching professionals and a Partner of Coursera, an online learning pioneer. TOEFL is the English exam students take to get into international and American universities.
  • VIPKID cares about our social impact, as illustrated with these two important projects:
    • VIPKID research institute at Stanford studies how children learn languages.
    • VIPKID teachers get connected to a lower income rural school and teach English to the class, virtually, with VIPKID's rural schools in China project with the Jack Ma Foundation.
  • Stats:
    • 500,000+ students.
    • 95% student-retention rate.
    • 60,000+ North American teachers.
    • $760 million+ in revenue in 2017.
    • Students in 35 countries.
  • Kobe Bryant is an investor in VIPKID.
  • Funding: $825 million (http://c1ick.us/vipkid-crb)
  • Employees: 1,001+ (est. 2013) (http://c1ick.us/vipkid-lkd)
  • Minimum age: 18+
  • Countries: USA, Canada.
  • Free to join: Yes

Giigs.us Forum

Start a discussion or add a comment. No ads/links. Must be logged into Facebook. Be nice. :-)